The Production Blog of Sword 'N' Board
 
So, as soon as I have a full license for Construct 2, I should be able to get the Beta finished, and up and ready! Luckily that's relatively cheap, so I should be getting that here in a couple weeks, but I'm not going to let that impact production at all!

So now, it's on to designing dungeon assets! I also do want to let everyone know that my buddy Josh was able to get the theme for the dungeon finished which is absolutely awesome, and incredibly creepy! I definitely think it's going to go with what I have planned for the dungeons really well.

Doing continuous walls for the dungeon, at different angles and directions has proven a little bit of a challenge but nothing I haven't had to deal with before. It's a matter of putting them all together and getting them illustrated, but in a way that you can use them as puzzle pieces. You have different corners, that face different directions, and different walls, and they all need to fit together seamlessly. So far though it's working out really well!

The Overworld assets are pretty much done, though I'm sure there may be 1 or 2 things I think of later on, that I'll add down the road, as I always do!

I definitely want this game to be a lot more puzzle oriented than the Legend of Zelda was. I've been replaying and watching replays for various Zelda games and I'm seeing a lot of things that can be improved upon. Don't get me wrong, I love the Legend of Zelda, but there's definitely a few things that I want to see about doing a little differently.

I'm definitely going to make sure that those principles and basic mechanics are there in the Beta, as I think getting the feel of the game across to the people playing as quickly as possible will be key, even if all of the art assets aren't competed at the time.

The Beta will consist of a good portion of the Overworld (though not all) and part of the first Dungeon (though again, not all of it), as I definitely think that will be enough to get all of the main mechanics for the game across to the player, at least that's my hope.

I'm also currently looking for a way to get to Pax, as there's several different Indie game companies that put together a mass Indie game booth, and I'm hoping I can get to be a part of one of them.

Until next Friday, I'm off to work on some Dungeons!



Leave a Reply.