The Production Blog of Sword 'N' Board
 
Alright, so I'm a day late, sorry! I decided I owed it to myself to take a break and make sure I don't get burnt out on the game, but now it's back to work!

For the most part, I would say the assets for the Overworld are about 98% done, though there are 3 or 4 different things that I still want to add to the assets to really make the world come alive.
With that being said, it's really starting to feel like a world of it's own. It's a strange thing designing a world, and really trying to get the theme across as you have it pictured in your head. It's easy to have an idea, but sometimes getting that idea across to other people in the same way is much more difficult than you would think.
Overall, I'm really happy where the game is right now. I have a lot of the assets imported and optimized for the engine, and it runs about as smoothly as I could ask for. You can now run around the world and run into trees, and bump into rocks and things like that, and it's all really exciting! It's always amazing to see something that you've had in your head really come to life that other people can also see and experience.
At this rate the Beta may even be ready well before April, which I'm definitely hoping for. Though I am still debating on how much of the world you'll be able to explore within the Beta.

Be that as it may, I do want people to feel that they can give feedback on the game, and tell me things that they might like to see in the game, once they're able to see what's there. Designers are usually working so closely to a project that they eventually reach a point where they can no longer look at a project objectively. It's really hard after a while to look at things from the player's perspective and think of how things look in the shoes of someone that isn't so intimately attached to the project. So if anyone has any things that they thing would be a lot of fun, I want them to feel like they can share that!

The music so far is going along great. My friend Joshua is working on the music, and he's shared a couple different themes with me, and they're insanely catchy. I found myself humming the main theme for the game even when it wasn't running in the background, so I'm hoping people like it just as much as I do!

As always, anyone that shares any status on the Sword 'N' Board Facebook page, will gain Beta access, so just be sure to let me know you did so, so you don't get missed!

And now, it's off to Enemy programming. You Beta testers are going to need something to fight right?



Leave a Reply.