The Production Blog of Sword 'N' Board
 
Picture
Prototyping has gone well so far for Sword 'N' Board so I decided to take a break from that since I'm also working on the programming of another project to really start getting the UI for the game up to bar and working properly.

The game finally has a drop down menu that slides down when you pause the game!

This will be of course your main item selection screen as well as show other important things for your character, such as upgrades, money, and other things you're going to need on your adventure.

All of the mechanics for each of the items have pretty much already been decided and now it's just a matter of designing the items for you to find!
I honestly didn't really anticipate designing the mechanics behind the items to be as complicated as it was, but it's definitely been an interesting time to say the least.

Aside from the main Drop down menu having the main Item selection screen it will also contain your map for the area that you're in to keep you from getting lost as well as other items that you may not be able to readily equip but affect your character in other ways!

I also started work on the main top UI, for your Health and overall controls as well as other game controls like Sound volume and things like that.
While things may not be moving along nearly as fast as I would like them to, I can't be too man, because progress is still progress!

Now, I still have no idea what I'm going to name this kid, so I should probably try and figure that out. Though, if anyone has any suggestions, feel free to message me, or leave a comment. Maybe I'll use it!




Leave a Reply.